Skip to main content

The delivery ceremony of the first edition of the Patent of the Year Award – Best Patent Applied to Covid-19 took place at the close of the 40th ABPI International Congress.
The winners were Marcos Pinotti Barbosa (in memorian), Shirley Lima Campos, Cleysson Bruno Santos Vimieiro and Daniel Neves Rocha, members of the Federal University of Minas Gerais – UFMG. They stood out in the development of inventive solution, object of patent of invention – PI 0903266-5, for the Method and Probe of Endobronchial Aspiration of Secretions.

The Award was received virtually by Professor Gilberto Medeiros Ribeiro, Director of CTIT – Coordination of Transfer and Technological Innovation at UFMG – Federal University of Minas Gerais. “It is a pleasure and an honor to receive this award, which is very dear to us at UFMG, which we have several inventors in the health field. This award is in memory of Prof. Pinotti, who has already left us, but who inspired an entire generation of students at UFMG “, said Professor Gilberto Medeiros Ribeiro.

The delivery was made by Dr. Liane Lage, director of Patents at INPI, who congratulated ABPI for the event that is helping to show the potential in Brazilian Intellectual Property to the world. “I understand that this award is extremely important and emblematic because we are in the middle of this pandemic. The ABPI Patent of the Year Award shows the world that our innovative potential was latent and we are ready to change our history. May many awards lie ahead. “, he highlighted.

The judging committee took into account the following project requirements, with differentiated weights: potential for generating social benefits (35%), environmental impact (15%), potential for generating economic benefits (30%), internationalization of protection (10 %) and participation of Brazilian inventors (10%).
ABPI takes the opportunity to thank everyone who submitted their projects. He is also grateful for the support of INPI and ANPEI, in addition to the esteemed contribution of coordinators Ricardo Boclin and Eneida Elias Berbare, who acted for the realization of this Award.