Newsletter ABPI – Special Edition Congress 2022 – Day 2


3rd Patent of the Year Award

On the second day of ABPI’s 2022 Congress, the 3rd Patent of the Year Award ceremony was held, focusing on innovation for the well-being of human beings. The winning patent of the year was invention patent BR 102013018865-4, entitled entitled “Thermal Control Fabric, collection and application process”, granted to the holders: the University of the State of Minas Gerais (UEMG); Foundation for Supporting Research in the states of Minas Gerais (FAPEMIG) and the Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG) and to the inventors Eliane Ayres; Rosemary Bom Conselho Sales; Priscila Ariane Loschi and Rodrigo Lambert Oréfice.

The award was announced by the director of Patents at the BPTO, Liane Lage, who highlighted that the winning patent application was filed in 2013. Therefore, with less than ten years in its examination. “This is already a result of our work at the BPTO”. The award was delivered by the ABPI’s Minas Gerais sectional representative, Luiza Tângari.

Gabriel Leonardos, President of ABPI, highlighted the participation of Council Member Ricardo Boclin in coordinating the Award. “I recognize all the work done. It shows the importance of cooperation at ABPI”.

Ricardo Boclin, the Award coordinator, thanked the partnership between the BPTO and the Institute’s Academy, which was responsible for assessing the registered patents. He also mentioned the collaboration of Ricardo Rodrigues, coordinator of the Academy, and professor Celso Lage. The professors of the Judging Committee were: Rita Pinheiro Machado, Elizabeth Ferreira da Silva, and Eduardo Winter.